Featured Post

Last call for the gotta play tennis podcast

Monday, November 21, 2011

NEWS: The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals

The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals are held annually at the end of the year at different venues around the world. It involves the top eight players in the ATP rankings, as well as the top eight doubles teams. 
     For 2011, the event is being held at the O2 Arena in London, England beginning on November 20th to the 27th. The defending champion of 2010 is Roger Federer.
     The following players have made it to the final eight: Roger Federer of Switzerland, Novak Djokovic of Serbia, Rafael Nadal of Spain, Joe Wilfred Tsonga of France, David Ferrer of Spain, Tomas Berdych of the Czek Republic, Andy Murray of Great Britain, and Mardy Fish of the United States.
     Check out the action as it unfolds daily. As of this writing, there has already been some incredible matchplay as each pairing provides the quality of a tournament final. The eight players are split into two groups of four. During this stage, players compete in a round-robin format (meaning players play against all the other players in their group). The two players with the best results in each group progress to the semifinals, where the winners of a group faces the runner-ups of the other group.
     In case you need something to excite you more than the above roster of players I just mentioned, check out this link from Gary Bala of Timeless Tennis:

1 comment:

  1. Details about ATP world tour finals 2011 order of play, atp world tour finals 2011 results, draws, champions, winners, finalists, scores and more.
    ATP World Tour Finals 2011


Please keep your comments honest but family appropriate.